The International Woolmark Prize 2022

The Woolmark Company has reopened the search for the next rising star to bag the 2022 International Woolmark Prize and we’re excited to partner with them to nominate designers!


The International Woolmark Prize is the world’s most prestigious talent development award for rising fashion stars looking to shape a positive future for the fashion industry. The prize had its maiden edition 67 years ago in 1954 with past winners including iconic designers such as Karl Lagerfeld, Saint Lauren, Giorgio Armani, Donna Karen, Ralph Lauren and most recently Matty Bovan, the 2021 prize winner. The 5 other finalists on this year’s Prize were Kenneth Ize, Bethany Williams, Lecavalier, Casablanca, and Thebe Magugu.


How it Works

  • Emerging artists all around the world who meet the Application Criteria submit their applications.


  • Woolmark’s expert advisory council of leading industry tastemakers will review the applications and select six finalists from the tons of applications. 


  • The six finalists will receive education and mentoring through The Woolmark Company’s Innovation Academy which offers access to International Woolmark Prize partners and advisors supporting product ideation, development and the commercial realisation of concepts to assist in the development of their collections and brands. They will also receive AU$60,000 each to develop capsule collections which highlight the versatility, innovative nature and eco-credentials of Merino wool in competition for the International Woolmark Prize and Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation.


The Value of the Prize 

The award includes the International Woolmark Prize; AU$200,000 and the Karl Lagerfeld Award for Innovation; AU$100,000.


The finalists will join prestigious alumni of more than 400 designers with the opportunity to commercialise their collections via The Woolmark Company’s Retail Partner Network, including the world’s leading boutiques and retailers.


Who can apply?


  • Designers who must have been producing commercially available apparel for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 8 years (at the time of submitting an application). 
  • Designers who have consistent experience in working with and promoting best practice across apparel supply chains, show a yearly growth in sales and demonstrate an innovative use of fabrics and textiles.


How do I Get Nominated by The Assembly?

Fill out this Nomination form to confirm your eligibility status to be nominated to apply.


What is the Criteria to Apply?

After you have been confirmed eligible to apply, these are what to include in your Woolmark Prize application.


Please Note: Applications must be no more than 10MB and include all of the following:



A PDF version of your two latest lookbooks. It should feature a minimum of 6 complete looks for each collection.



A high resolution (minimum width of 800px) copy of your brand logo and portrait of the brand’s founder(s).



150 words or less detailing your motivation to apply for the International Woolmark Prize.



Include essential details such as the number of collections produced, registered trading address, contact details and press coverage including up to 20 articles where relevant.



Provide a list of all current stockists, including their locations.



Detail how you’ve worked with wool including any innovative or sustainable practices. Previous experience with Merino wool is not a prerequisite for application.


How Long Do I Have Before the Application Closes?

You have till the 31st of July 2021. So fill out the Nomination Form ASAP and we’ll be in touch on the main application.